Multi-engine Piston (MEP)


The Multi-engine piston is a class rating which is required to fly multi-engine aircraft. Once you have the rating then you might need to complete differences training for each new type of MEP aircraft. The differences are detailed on the "Extra Ratings" tab.


Need 70 hrs PIC before starting MEP course

7 hrs ground school covering aircraft tech and asymetric flight (VMCA)

Valid for 1 year from licence issue

Course 6 hrs flying of which 3:30 needs to be asymmetric plus test.

MEP skills test includes GH, CCTs and plenty of engine failures leading to asymetric flight.

CAA form - SRG1119C


Valid for 1 year.


To revalidate the rating you must pass a proficiency check within three months prior to expiry. If you have not flown at least 10 route sectors as pilot of MEP aircraft (or type) then one route sector must be flown as part of the proficiency check. A route sector is a flight with take-off, departure, cruise of not less than 15 minutes, arrival, approach and landing phases.


If you satisfy the requirements above then the licence is valid for an additional 12 months from the expiry date, not the proficiency check date.

...a website for pilots, created by pilots...


  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Instagram
  • LinkedIn Social Icon